Presario CQ60 Wi-Fi Logic board replacement

After many weeks of my brother using a pencil to turn on the Wi-Fi, he decided it was time for a replacement button…..

Damaged button

Damaged button

First off, I had to do a bit of digging on the internet to see what parts were needed. I wasn`t to sure if it was two separate logic boards or just the one.

New Logic Board

New Logic Board

I found that it was only a single piece of Logic board which housed the two buttons, so I went ahead and ordered it.The new Logic board arrived two days after the ordered was placed.

Screw placement

Screw placement

My first task was to remove the Li-Ion battery from underneath the laptop. With the battery out of the way i was able to access 5 Philips head screws which were holding the keyboard and plastic shroud in place. The Philips screws which were holding the keyboard in place were marked with a keyboard.

Keyboard ribbon cable

Keyboard ribbon cable

The keyboard was also connected to the Laptop via a ribbon cable which I removed with a Plastic spudger. Once the ribbon cable was disconnected the keyboard simply lifted out without any hassle.

Plastic shroud

Plastic shroud

I then turned my attention to the plastic shroud which housed the logic board. This was also connected to the laptop via a ribbon cable along with a number of plastic clips which were all removed with a spudger tool.

Underneath plastic shroud

Underneath plastic shroud

The Power and Wi-Fi logic board was attached to the underside of the plastic shroud with four Philips head screws. I removed these screws and fitted the new Logic board.

Plastic shroud with button

Plastic shroud with button

With the new Logic board and button in place, I reassembled the laptop and switched it on. Once it had fully booted I was greeted with a bright blue light on the button which signal it was working correctly.

Working button

Working button

Leave a comment